Have You Missed The Do-Gooder Company Series?

CORPORATE TITAN, DO-GOODER, OR ALL OF THE ABOVE?

CORPORATE TITAN, DO-GOODER, OR ALL OF THE ABOVE? (Photo credit: University of San Francisco)

I am a slacker.  I could probably write a week’s worth of posts about how I’ve been slacking and still have material with which to work..  However, this post will focus on how I’ve been slacking on the Do-Gooder Company series.  I could sit here and offer excuses about how my husband was traveling for work and left me alone with the kids ALL WEEK LONG.  Or perhaps I could explain that my oldest child was temporarily possessed by an evil spirit who was prone to tantrums and whose only English language spoken word was NO.  Or how my hormones (or maybe stress) have led me to be on an emotional roller coaster for the past couple weeks.  But, I won’t bore you with excuses.  The truth is…I forgot.  I mean, it is 10:00 PM on Friday night and I had set the goal of posting one Do-Gooder Company per week on Fridays.  And, I forgot.  How pathetic is that??!!

But, all is not lost because I did read a really interesting article on Social Enterprise (aka socially responsible business) and I encourage you to head over to Forbes and read it now.  The gist of the article is that a poll was done recently surveying 1015 Americans about their knowledge of Social Enterprise and their intentions towards it.  I found most interesting the statistics that indicated consumers are still more interested in snagging a deal than doing good.  Fifty-six percent of respondents said they were more likely to purchase an item as part of a BOGO promotion, rather than purchasing a product that would result in a donation to charity or a matching gift to a person in need.   Clearly there is still considerable room for growth in the Social Enterprise sector, but, can socially responsible companies win over those people looking for a deal?

I promise to feature an actual company next week, but for today, enjoy this article courtesy of Forbes.

Comments? Ideas? Deep Thoughts?

