A Chore Master I am Not

Fired red stamp

Fired red stamp (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I should be fired.   I am a horrible manager, chore manager, that is.  In my defense,  I am trying to manage a 3.5 year old who is stubborn as a mule and who will not, under any circumstance, listen to reason.  This is by far the HARDEST management role I have ever held.  And, that is saying something because I was faced with some very difficult (and sometimes weird) situations back when I was working.  Sexual harassment, employee terminations, school bus accidents, medical emergencies, crazy bus drivers and lockdowns – you name it and I have probably seen it.  BUT, as a manager facing those situations, there was protocol to follow, and, for the most part, I was dealing with people who could listen to reason.  Have you ever tried to reason with a preschooler?  It is pure insanity.

SONY DSC

And so, this month’s Chores For Charity update is once again a re-evaluation of how we do things around here.  And by “we”, I mean “me”.  J  I’ve come to realize that Josie likes routine with chores and, if I break that routine, I am SCREWED.  For instance, her chores in the morning are to get dressed and make her bed.  If we are running late, as we typically are, and she gets dressed but doesn’t have time to make her bed, I am SCREWED.  You see, when I tell her to make her bed later in the day, it results in a full-blown tantrum.  You know, the kind where you are concerned that your neighbors are going to call the police with the suspicion that you have your child hooked up to a medieval torture instrument.  The same happens if I tell her to wipe down and set the dinner table while her pre-dinner cartoon is on.  Yes, it is best to plan dinner around the Disney Channel schedule (and I am only partly jesting when I say that!).

I will now publicly offer how I plan to remedy the mistakes I have made as a Chore Master in our house.

  1. I will be consistent with when and how I expect the chores to be completed.  Chores will truly become a “routine” in our house.
  2. I will amend the Chore Chart to include two permanent tasks, one Josie’s Choice and one Parent’s Choice.  I hope this will provide a little more flexibility to catch Josie doing great things and also provide her with some autonomy in the chore routine.
  3. I will recognize that the above two statements seem to be in a bit of conflict.  How can  you build a routine when you don’t have set tasks to complete each day?  I’m okay with this.  Hey, I am going to need something to write about for next month’s CFC update – just setting myself up.
4 thoughts on “A Chore Master I am Not

Comments? Ideas? Deep Thoughts?

