Do Good, Read More Summer Reading Challenge

‘Tis the season of summer reading lists….do you have yours ready yet?  I am an avid reader and am looking forward to reading some books that have been buzzed about: Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight, We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo and Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld have made the list, all books I discovered on this excellent summer reading list.   But, I have decided to go on a entirely new reading adventure this summer and you are invited!  My blog’s purpose is to inspire adults and children to improve their own lives by doing good, being kind and making a difference in the lives of others. The Do Good, Read More Summer Reading Challenge provides each of us with an opportunity to make a difference in the lives of our fellow bloggers, and, in the process, improve readership and exposure on our blogs too.   Will you join me on the challenge?

final sum read chall

Summer Reading Challenge Rules:

  1. Display the Do Good, Read More Summer Reading Challenge Image on your website and link it back to this post.
  2. Read one blog that you have never visited each day from June 24th  –  August 18th.   Explore other blogging platforms, click on suggested posts, ask others for suggestions – the only rule is that the blog must be “new to you.”
  3. Leave a comment for each of the bloggers whom you have discovered. You can offer support and constructive criticism or share knowledge and ideas. 
  4. Share the blogs you have discovered in any way you see fit.  Blog daily, compile weekly lists, or write a “This is How I Spent My Summer” post sharing all the links. 

Follow these rules and by the end of the summer, you will have connected with 56 new bloggers and your exposure will have grown considerably.  Better yet, you will be supporting your fellow writers who, like you, take the time and have the courage to share their thoughts and ideas with world using blogging as their medium.

Are you ready for the Do Good, Read More Summer Reading ChallengeJoin today and then share this invitation with your network!

 

**Note: This challenge is clearly targeted towards bloggers, but you don’t have to be a blogger to participate.  Simply read a new blog and comment on it each day and you, too, will be making a difference in the lives of bloggers!**

28 thoughts on “Do Good, Read More Summer Reading Challenge

  1. Pingback: Reading Challenge Starts Monday! | The Do-Gooder Mama

  2. I think reading one new blog each day is a fabulous idea. It doesn’t take very long at all, and not only exposes the reader to new blogs and ideas, but is useful in helping to promote the blogs as well. As someone fairly new to the blogging world, I appreciate the way this idea was thoroughly thought out, not only a way of increasing knowledge but as a way of helping others. Thank you.

    • Thanks! I am also fairly new to the blogging world and have discovered how important it is to read, comment and network with other bloggers. This challenge is just some extra motivation to keep me on track. 🙂

    • And I appreciate your comments! The act of reading and commenting on a blog is a simple kindness that we can show to our fellow bloggers. We each invest a great deal of time in authoring our posts and I know how much it means to me when I get comments on my posts. I hope that this challenge will inspire others to be “active readers.”

  3. This is a wonderful idea. I love the idea, purpose and intention. Giving first always resonates with me and that is preciously what this is all about. I will give this considerable consideration and will share this with my Mastermind Group next week. I will do my very best to make this happen. Blog on my new friend. 🙂

    • Thanks so much! I know that it is not for everyone, but I do think it is a great way for newer bloggers to connect and engage in the blogging world. The simple kindness of commenting on a blog that someone has spent considerable time on is something that is so easy and will undoubtedly be appreciated. Thanks for stopping by and for your thoughts

  4. I have been struggling to come up with a summer reading list this year. I have gone through several websites and looked at their suggested books, but so far this year nothing has really struck as me as something I must pick up and won’t be able to put down. So, considering I won’t be spending too much time with my nose in a book, this is an awesome idea. I already comment on a lot of blogs but who said I couldn’t add a few more? I love the opportunity it gives me to read a lot of varying content and learn new things along the way.

    • I have not even attempted to make a summer reading list, though several people have recommended Chasing Amanda to me and I will probably try to pick that up. I figure this challenge will keep me busy and my mind sharp and then I can read when the girls go to preschool in the fall!

  5. What a great idea! A wonderful way of connecting with people… now all I need is a 48 hour day to fit it in 😉

    • True! I spent much more time on it today than I thought I would, but I am chalking it up to being the first day of the challenge. I’m thinking 15 minutes most days with some longer time investments when I report on what I’ve read. We shall see how that goes….

  6. Pingback: Summer Reading Day 1: I Discovered Kindness Girl | The Do-Gooder Mama

    • Yes, I also try to find new blogs several times a week, but I figured this would give me (and others hopefully) the push to be more intentional about it. Good luck if you decide to join the fun!

  7. Pingback: Do Good, Read More Summer Reading Challenge | go mama o

  8. Pingback: Day 2: This Mama is Keeping it Real | The Do-Gooder Mama

  9. What a great idea! There’s so much out there to read, so many people who are experts on a variety of subjects. I’ve learned so much from reading other people’s blogs. I love how technology can be used to intertwine people who otherwise may have never interacted with one another. Great post!

    • I love your point about technology! The Internets (as George W calls it) has enabled individuals to share their ideas and stories with people on the other side of the world in the blink of an eye. I still find it to be utterly amazing.

  10. Pingback: Riding in Cars With Kids, Hoagies and Fanny Packs | The Do-Gooder Mama

  11. Very cool idea! I’ll definitely make more of an effort to find a read more new blogs as a result – thanks for the inspiration and, of course, it’s a win win because it also increases exposure as you say. Brilliant! Thanks for dropping by and commenting:-) Glad to have found you. Good luck with this! Blessings, Harula xxxxxxx

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and learning more about the challenge and for your kind words. 🙂 I am happy to have “met” you too and will look forward to reading about your good deeds each week. Let me know how you do discovering new bloggers! It is definitely a win-win for everyone involved. Cheers!

  12. Pingback: Rounding Out the Week… | The Do-Gooder Mama

  13. Pingback: The Wise Words of Five Women…Six if You Count Me | The Do-Gooder Mama

  14. I feel this is one of the most vital information for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. But want to observation on few
    basic things, The website style is great, the articles is
    truly excellent : D. Excellent job, cheers

Comments? Ideas? Deep Thoughts?

