Summer Reading Day 1: I Discovered Kindness Girl

final sum read chall

It’s only Day One of the Do Good, Read More Summer Reading Challenge and I have already hit gold.  For the first day I decided to search Google for “kindness blogs” and I stumbled upon Kindness Girl.  I landed on her home page but was instantly drawn to something called the Magic Wand Project For Kids.  Folks, let me tell you that this idea is just magnificent and, yes, magical too.  Patience Salgado overheard her children talking about magic one day.  The entire conversation is on her blog, which you MUST visit, but the quote that stands out was spoken by her 7 year old son Jack, “Magic doesn’t come from the world, it comes from people, and their kindness, that’s where magic comes from.”  Doesn’t it take your breath away?

In response to this conversation, Patience launched the Magic Wand Project For Kids.  She  placed 100 Magic Wands around her hometown, Richmond, VA, with a tag attached inviting the children who find the wands to do 3 acts of kindness and discover their kindness magic.  She also created a Facebook page where families could check in and tell stories of their Magic Wand experience.   I think every child finds magic to be fascinating and has at some point has pretended that a stick found on the ground was their own personal magic wand.  It is easy to see how thrilled a child would be to find a Magic Wand and, in turn, how excited they would be to do their acts of kindness.  The possible impact of this program is far-reaching.  Each child does 3 acts of kindness and then returns the magic wand into circulation for another child to find who will then do their 3 acts of kindness.  Patience has also made it easy for individuals like me to launch the Magic Wand Project For Kids in my neighborhood by providing links to download the tags and suggestions for getting started.  Let’s just say that I don’t think this is the last time you will hear of the Magic Wand Project on my blog.

The Do Good, Read More Summer Reading Challenge empowered me to actively seek out a new blog today and I am so glad it did.  I don’t know that I would have discovered this gem without the challenge.  Do you need some extra motivation to expand your blogging network?  Maybe you just need to find new inspiration and reading some new blogs will help you get there.  Perhaps you just love offering encouragement, feedback and constructive criticism to fellow bloggers.  If you fit any of the above categories, join me in the Do Good Read More Summer Challenge.  It is a small time investment to read and comment on a new blog each day but the return on your investment will be grand.  Click here to learn more about participating in the challenge.

One thought on “Summer Reading Day 1: I Discovered Kindness Girl

  1. Pingback: Rounding Out the Week… | The Do-Gooder Mama

Comments? Ideas? Deep Thoughts?

